Need You Now


(Yup, taken on my iPhone. Such a hipster. And that phone case? Pfft! No apps used though, I gots skillz.)

So, this new blog of mine. After a year of being away from cyberspace, I’m ready to come back. I had a pretty bad year personally. At the beginning of 2011, my brother-in-law passed away. It was a hard and unexpected death for all of us in the family and for friends as well. It did make me think more about the time I spend with everyone, so much of my time last year was spent grieving and re-connecting with a lot of people. And boy was it what I needed.

The majority of my online time was spent on Facebook (which is private and for carefully chosen people only) as I knew others were going through similar things to me. A huge support network was set up for my sister and for me too. I have to say I have some fucking awesome friends (sorry for the language but it’s the only way I can make it clear in words quite how awesome they were). Just before new year I started using Twitter again a little more and finally, about a week ago, I decided to start blogging again. But I needed a new identity in the blogosphere – which is when Beatrix & Alabama was born.

I feel like I’ve finally hit adulthood in a lot of ways. I’m getting older and freaking out about it but at the same time looking forward to it. I realised my sexuality after battling with it for a number of years without truly realising (I identify as a lesbian, or lezbot as my friends like to say). I became better friends with my ex after this as well (yes, he was a man), and our relationship now is a friendship that I will cherish for the rest of my life. I’m becoming more responsible as well – only I am to blame for mistakes in the same respect as only I am to be congratulated for things I do well. Money is still an issue but that’s more related to working situations and I have to thank my parents for all the help they’ve been giving me recently.

So what’s next? There are a few changes happening in my personal/working life that involve moving and commuting between 2 cities (London/Birmingham), I’ll be designing and making knitwear to sell under my own label (will be announced as and when it’s finally ready!), and so much more.

And there you have it. See you next post!

Ladylove,
Jaqueline xx

Leave a Reply

