Feed Me, Seymour!

Ah musicals.

Musicals.

As a film genre and on stage, I fucking love them. Most of the people I know are fans as well, but some of my friends absolutely cannot stand them and get annoyed at the fact that the actors and actresses just randomly (but perfectly timed) break out into song to express what is being played out on screen. Personally, I’ve loved them for as long as I can remember. Some of my earliest memories are putting Cats and Phantom of the Opera records on the record player over and over again. You’ve seriously never seen someone so excited as when Phantom of the Opera was released as a film in 2004. I LOVE IT.

In terms of films, I’ve always been a mega fan of the Rodgers & Hammerstein musicals. Oklahoma, South Pacific, The King and I and The Sound of Music to be precise. I remember The King and I being one of my main repeat video rentals/watches as a kid and I knew ALL the words to the songs. I probably bordered on obsessive with the musicals I favoured as a kid. Other firm favourites include: The Wizard of Oz, Meet Me in St Louis, Moulin Rouge, Little Shop of Horrors, Grease, Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory, The Blues Brothers, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Chicago, Across the Universe, Cry-Baby, Singin’ In the Rain, Robin Hood: Men In Tights, Cabaret, Fiddler on the Roof  and the majority of the Disney film back catalogue. My tastes range from the blockbusters to the indies. On stage, I absolutely LOVED Avenue Q and Spamalot and actually need to see more stage musicals to be honest.

In a parallel universe I’m pretty sure that I’m this big-time musical star, both on stage and screen. I did used to put on plays with my cousins for our family and friends as a kid and remember putting on talent shows with my toys. I’ve also had many an adult talent show, alone, in my bedroom with my full length mirror and a hairbrush. Usually when I’m meant to be doing something quite urgent. But urgent can wait when you’re listing a few of your favourite things…

Ladylove,
Jaqueline xx

PS. The picture below is of me aged 3, or there abouts, when I was sure I was going to be a ballerina and stage performer. Cute, huh?

lil ballerina

Leave a Reply

