This Is The Rythym Of The Night

The Nineties are now considered vintage. Well, anything that was around 20+ years ago is to be fair and my memories are now a part of that vintage (and considering it’s my birthday tomorrow it makes me feel WELL OLD!!). One of my biggest memories of the 90s was the music. I have vivid memories of specific tracks playing in a specific moment in time.

Tracks like this: Ace of Base – All That She Wants

This: Massive Attack – Teardrop

And this: Fugees – Killing Me Softly

They are the standouts in my memories, representing good times, friends, awesome musical experiences and the effects that music had on me. Sitting in the car, in the front seat, driving through Newtown to visit my uncle and turning up Ace of Base when it came on. Sitting watching rage before 7am when the videos went well pop-orientated and seeing the video to ‘Teardrop’ for the first time. It’s the first music video I remember and I used to hope it would be on whenever I watched rage before pop hours. And getting really into hip-hop and r’n’b when I was living in the Torres Strait and singing along with my friends to ‘Killing Me Softly’ and each pretending we were Lauryn Hill (yes, me as a white girl pretending to be a soulful voiced black woman…you can try to figure that out but my experience on Thursday Island was far from what anyone can ever imagine or even start to wrap their head around. I’ll try to explain it one day.)

Growing up in Australia, I was exposed to some pretty damn awesome music television and radio – rage on ABC, Video Hits on Channel Ten, and the Triple J and Triple M radio stations. Living up and down the Australian East Coast played a massive part in what music I was exposed to as well as a wee kidlet. As a whole, Australia has a massive *proudface* moment when it comes to supporting and exporting their own acts. Musicians such as INXS, Midnight Oil, silverchair, Grinspoon, JET, Wolfmother, AC/DC, Yothu Yindi, Crowded House. I mean the list goes on and on and on. Just look at this website (and yes, would also include Holly Valance, Delta Goodrem and Peter Andre amongst others)(oh, and the Bee Gee’s because technically they formed in Australia when they were living there and so therefore makes them an AUSTRALIAN BAND, YEAH??) The country is supportive of it’s creative culture (most of the time and as long as it’s not opposing any massive issue the government is trying to push aka. The John Howard years), and wants the rest of the world to know about it.

So it’s funny that none of my massive musical memories actually include any Australian bands. Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot of memories surrounding Australian music (Pauline Hanson anyone? Hahahaha) but all the songs I have specific memories of are definitely fixated in the 90s. Well and truly firmly established 90s hits. And the fact that Ministry of Sound released an album called Anthem 90s and I get excited about every single song on it, goes to show how much of a 90s child I really am…

I talked about having a Wes Anderson themed birthday party for my birthday next year but my 30th is mos’ def’ being set firmly in the Nineties…uh, hello?! But for now, I’m off to reminisce about my party last weekend and how 90’s I looked. I rocked the bindi. Again. I last did that 20 years ago. Vintage.

Ladylove,
Jaqueline xx

PS. I know it’s Two for Tunesday and I’ve got 3 songs there but it’s my birthday tomorrow so I’m allowed.

Leave a Reply

